My Friend and Me


DSC_0361

When I was small, my friend was tall.

Through my window it watched me grow.

Friends always near though winters bare.

Waiting for spring, leaves green, birds sing.

 ~

Sit in the shade, memories made.

Arms are growing, leaves are glowing.

Branches so high – climb to the sky.

Or ride the swing, picnic to bring.

Then soon its fall, colors for all.

Float to the ground – pile in a mound.

Jump in and play, brisk autumn day.

Another year past all sprouting fast.

Leaves shake, wind blows, hot days, cold snows.

We’ve stood together in all-weather.

But when I’m all grown, out on my own.

I’ll miss my tree and it’ll miss me.

 ~

The End

sck082514

2 thoughts on “My Friend and Me

Leave a Reply

